Meet The Team: Hunter

At LeafLine Labs, we know that exceptional patient care starts with an extraordinary team. That’s why we pride ourselves on our people. Get to know us!

Meet Hunter, a Cultivator at our production facility in Cottage Grove.

30-second elevator speech: Born in Fairmont, Minnesota in 1993. Grew up in Council Bluffs, Iowa. I went to college at Iowa State University and got my B.Sc. in Horticulture with an emphasis in greenhouse production and management. I grew ~6 acres of perennials for a short period of time after college and enjoyed it, but I wanted to do something more than just grow plants that I knew people would eventually kill. I’ve always wanted to grow cannabis, but I didn’t expect to be able to do it right out of the gate when I finished college. So, I grew perennials and after a while I heard about a job opportunity at LeafLine through Vince, who was a good buddy of mine in college. After hearing everything about the company and my interview, I knew I had to jump at the opportunity to come work here and decided to make the move up to Minnesota.  What does a typical day of work look like for you? A typical day for me is watering the moms or cuttings that have been hardened off in the propagation room in the mornings and end of day, scouting the plants (signs of disease, pests, viruses, abnormalities), mixing nutrients, tending to the plants (defanning, pruning, pinching, culling), transplanting, trellising plants, checking pH/EC, harvesting, cleaning, emptying drainage buckets, grinding root balls, keeping batch logs and detailed inventory logs. What is your favorite part about your job? I think my favorite part about this job is that it’s more than just growing plants. We grow and produce medicine for people that really need it. Knowing that I play a role in producing medicine for our patients is everything to me. It’s what keeps me motivated and wanting to work harder. What are you passionate about? I’m passionate about growing all plants, but specifically cannabis. It’s why I went to school to get my degree and I’m also passionate about helping people too. So, growing medical cannabis is a perfect meld of both those things. Favorite way(s) to spend your free time: I like to spend my time with friends, going to see movies or go to concerts to see live music. I like to skate, bike, hike, and snowboard when I can. I play video games when I’m feeling lazy. I like to paint/draw and read books on growing. Where do you see yourself in 10 years? In 10 years I see myself still growing cannabis and hopefully I’ll have a family of my own by then. Not too picky on where I live or work, just as long as the community is safe, the people in the town are nice, and the company I work for treats me well. Favorite Minnesota sports team(s): Vikings What is your favorite Disney movie? The Star Wars series now that it’s owned by Disney. I also really liked Toy Story growing up, but that’s Pixar.