For Healthcare Providers

Are you a healthcare practitioner looking to certify people for the Minnesota Medical Cannabis program? Our resources on this page should help you get started!

LeafLine Labs was founded by two emergency room physicians in 2014. LeafLine Labs is one of the leading manufacturers and distributors of pharmaceutical-grade medical cannabis formulations in the nation.

We are, first and foremost, providers and care deliverers to patients enrolled in Minnesota’s truly medically-focused medical cannabis program.

As healthcare practitioners, we welcome questions and comments! Every person on the LeafLine Labs team is dedicated to providing the safest, most consistent, and high-quality medical cannabis to the people of Minnesota.

The Provider’s Role: Certifying Qualifying Conditions

As mandated by the Minnesota Department of Health, consultation and condition certification by a Minnesota-licensed healthcare practitioner is the first step for anyone wanting to join Minnesota’s Medical Cannabis Program to purchase medical cannabis.

*Healthcare practitioners are defined by state law as physicians, advanced practice registered nurses, and physician assistants. Any healthcare practitioner who meets these qualifications is eligible to register as a certifying provider.

A provider may find suitable to inform certain patients about cannabinoid therapy as a possible treatment option, or some patients may approach their provider to request certification of their qualifying medical condition(s). Condition certification confirms that:

  1. The patient has one of the state-approved, and that the provider has sufficient knowledge of the patient’s medical history to confirm this diagnosis and are available for continuous management of care; and

  2. A legitimate medical relationship exists between patient and provider.

Once condition certification is completed, it is the responsibility of the individual patient (and/or registered caregiver) to complete the registration process with the Office of Medical Cannabis. As soon as an individual’s registration in Minnesota’s Medical Cannabis Program is confirmed, the patient may then call LeafLine Labs to schedule an initial consultation with an on-staff pharmacist, specially trained in cannabinoid treatment and dosing.

Become a Certifying Practitioner

Before a healthcare practitioner is able to certify patients, they will need to create an account in the state-run medical cannabis registry. This is roughly a 5-minute process.

Required registration information:

  • General information (name, address, email & phone),

  • Medical license,

  • DEA license, and

  • Clinic address and contact information. 

Register to Certify

The “Will’s” and “Will Nots”

Healthcare practitioners WILL: certify patient’s medical conditions. Certifying healthcare providers are responsible for verifying that they 1) have a medical relationship with the patient, and 2) that they have conducted a full assessment of the patient’s medical history and confirm a current diagnosis of one or more qualifying medical conditions.

Healthcare practitioners WILL NOT: be required to participate in the medical cannabis program. Participation in Minnesota’s Medical Cannabis Program is completely voluntary, and providers are free to inform patients that they will not provide certification of qualifying conditions. Protection against disciplinary action for participation is guaranteed by the Minnesota Board of Medicine.

Healthcare practitioners WILL NOT: be legally liable for patients registered in the medical cannabis program. Certifying practitioners are not liable if a patient experiences an adverse event, is involved in an accident while under the influence of cannabis, or diverts or otherwise misuses medical cannabis medication. Healthcare practitioners are exempt from all civil and criminal penalties, and a provider's DEA license is never at risk. 

Healthcare practitioners WILL NOT: write prescriptions for medical cannabis, be asked to recommend medical cannabis to patients, or determine formulations or dosing for patients. Marijuana is a Schedule 1 drug under the DEA, and as such cannot be prescribed in the state of Minnesota in any form. By extension, medical cannabis is not reportable to the Minnesota Prescription Drug Monitoring Program. Healthcare practitioners are not asked to certify an opinion on the medicine’s benefit or risk to the patient, and are not responsible for monitoring or managing the patient’s use of medical cannabis. This is instead monitored and managed by a pharmacist employed by a state-approved medical cannabis provider.

OMC HCP Informational Resources

A Need for More Research

The Controlled Substances Act (CSA) of 1970 classified cannabis as a Schedule I substance, a scheduling reserved for substances with no accepted medical use and high potential for abuse. Cannabis’ continued Schedule I classification has not only limited, but prevented research on this plant from being conducted in the United States.

Regardless, several studies have been done outside of the United States and some within our own borders that have yielded the information on the efficacy of this plant that we have today.